All Operating Systems Suck!


One question that arises frequently on alt.sysadmin.recovery is "Is there any operating system that doesn't suck?"

Of course, it's usually phrased as "AAAAAARRRRGGGGHHHHH!!!! Aren't there any operating systems that don't suck?!?!?!"

The answer, as we all know, is no. All operating systems suck. They suck, blow, bite, chomp, chew, spit, dribble, drool, blubber, blabber, and puke. Every last one of 'em sucks in some way or other. They are designed for maximal sysadmin discomfort by festering syphillitic marketroids. Not one does not suck.

In case you think otherwise, I have compiled the Canonical List of Operating Systems That Suck.


They all suck.
Except AIX, which sucks raw eggs through a very thin straw.
You may also be interested in the Operating System Hall of Shame: http://www.tcp.co.uk/staff/simes/non-tcp/hall-of-shame.html
Thanks to:
The schmuck at MaxFrame who insists it doesn't suck, and told me to "get a life".
J.D. Falk (jdfalk@cybernothing.org)
petro (petro@suba.com)
Koos van den Hout (koos@pizza.hvu.nl)
Petteri Jantti (jantti@decus.fi)
John Truong (jtruong@io.org)
Sam Harmon (sdh7@wired.jolt.com)
Tim Downes (downes@u.washington.edu)
Mark Brady (bssc@hic.net)
Patrick Scheible (kkt@serv.net)
Budda Buck (phaedrus@future.dreamscape.com)
Chris Lamb (skeezicks@teleport.com)
Darrell Fuhriman (darrell@teleport.com)
J$ (js@cs.vu.nl)